<data:blog.pageTitle/>

This Page

has moved to a new address:

http://www.cookcreateread.com

Sorry for the inconvenienceā€¦

Redirection provided by Blogger to WordPress Migration Service
cook*create*read: Review: Paper Swans by Jessica Thompson

Tuesday, September 02, 2014

Review: Paper Swans by Jessica Thompson

Paper Swans by Jessica Thompson
Published by Coronet (Hodder & Stoughton) 2014
Received for review via bookbridgr.com

Ben Lawrence seems to have it all - the hot job, the flashy car, and the luxurious apartment.  But there is tragedy hidden in his past.

The events of that day have stopped him truly getting close to anyone.  He made a promise that love was the price he would pay for his mistakes.

When Effy Jones - a bright, ambitious charity founder - walks into Tower 100 one autumn day, little do they know that their lives are about to be turned upside down.

Paper Swans tells of how true love conquers all, and when everything is broken one person can help mend the pieces.  

_____________________________________________

First of all, can we just appreciate the beauty of this book cover?!  It's shallow, I know.  The picture truly does not do this book justice - it is gorgeous!

Ok, so that's out of the way ... I read this book after The Final Empire by Brandon Sanderson, and I was in the mood for something light and fluffy.  And that is exactly what I got.  I wouldn't say that 'chick lit' is one of my favourite genres, but every now and then a light fun read is what is needed.  This books fills that spot nicely, although I did have some issues with it.

The main characters in this story both have flaws.  One is suffering from mental illness as a result of a tragic 'mystery' from his past (which really isn't that much of a mystery, to be honest) and the other is a workaholic, dedicating her life to a charitable cause.  But everything just seems a bit too perfect, in spite of their difficulties - Ben is hugely successful in his career, rolling in money, gorgeous looking, adored by women everywhere and Effy is beautiful, successful in her charitable endeavours, loved by everyone who meets her.  It all just felt a little bit too easy and perfect, and this was not helped by a several ridiculous coincidences within the story.

This book was well written, though sometimes a little formulaic, and at times it felt the author was trying a little too hard to be funny and on trend.  Due to the mental illness aspect of the plot, I couldn't help but compare this to The Shock of the Fall by Nathan Filer which I read recently, and unfortunately Paper Swans pales in comparison to Filer's book. But I think I am wrong to compare the two - Paper Swans is primarily a love story rather than a novel about mental illness.

Having said all this, I did not dislike this book.  It is a nice, light read, a sweet story in which love conquers all.  It is ultimately uplifting and positive and I think it will appeal to fans of Katie Fforde and Jill Mansell.  A perfectly acceptable 3 stars from me.


Labels: , , , ,

0 Comments:

Post a Comment

Thank you for your lovely comments - always appreciated! :) x

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home